Paleo Strong and Chemo Night

Paleo Strong and Chemo Night

Day 3 of recommitting my life (and mom’s) to Paleo. I rocked it! I made my own version of PF Chang’s spicy chicken! I don’t have measurements, but here’s what I did (measurements are NOT exact):
2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken thighs
1 cup unsweetened pineapple juice
2 tbs hot garlic sauce or siraccha (I like it hot. Use 1tbs first and see if you want more heat)
2 cloves crushed garlic
2 green onions chopped up
1-2 tbs soy vey (it’s a terriyaki mix) only sugary thing I used to give the spice a little sweetness

I cut the chicken into chunks and saute it 1 tsp sesame oil. While it’s browning I put the garlic and sliced onions in a pot and saute them for a minute with a tiny pinch of sesame oil. Then I add pineapple juice (I’ve used real pineapple mixed in a vitamix before…amazing!), garlic sauce, soy vey, Oh and chinese 5 spice. I let that come to a boil and then add it to the now browned chicken. I cook that in a low simmer for about 15 minutes. Then add a little cold water/arrowroot mix to thicken it. Voila! It’s finished! I don’t eat rice, but you could certainly eat this on top of rice, pasta, spinach…whatever floats your boat 😉 We had it with our big honkin’ salad. Mom loved it. This is day 1 of her going Paleo. I don’t know if she’ll make it LOL.

Secondly, I injected chemo tonight (methotrexate for vasculitis). I hate this stuff. I’ve been on it 9 years. I’m so over it. Tomorrow will be met with a bad headache, severe fatigue and an over all achy feeling. Tomorrow is a bed rest day I’m sure. Oh well, it could be worse!

Leave a comment

October 29, 2013 · 3:44 am

Leave a Reply

